Wolverhampton Young Citizen Awards

Do you know someone who has gone the extra mile - whose personal courage, care for others, achievement or contribution to the community should be recognised and celebrated? If so, why not nominate them for a Wolverhampton Young Citizen of the Year Award?

There are awards for those aged 13-18 and 19-25 for those young people that deserve recognition for their service to others.

Nominations may be made by family members, friends, teachers, youth leaders and other professionals, employers or anyone who has recognised the achievements of the young person in question.

The awards will be made to young people between the ages of 13 and 18 and between 19 and 25 who live, study or work within the Wolverhampton boundary.

Nominate now

About the award

This award is dedicated to Tom Warren, the city and the movement he served with distinction.

Tom was a Wolverhampton Rotarian and served as Director of Education for 25 years. He retired from that post in 1945, to become only the second Briton ever to lead Rotary International throughout the world. In doing so he became one of a small group of Rotarians involved in the groundwork which lead to the formation of the United Nations.

Devised and organised by the Rotary Clubs of: 


Important dates

Launch date
1 March 2024
Nominations close
31 May 2024
Finalists informed
Award Ceremony

2023 Finalists

2023 Winners
Finalists of the Wolverhampton Young Citizen of the Year Awards 2023 celebrate their success with the Mayor of Wolverhampton Councillor Dr Michael Hardacre and Chair of the Awards Organising Committee Roger Timbrell.

Young Wulfrunians were recognised for their outstanding community efforts at this year’s Wolverhampton Young Citizen of the Year Awards.

The event, which is devised and sponsored by the city’s Rotary Clubs, was hosted by the Mayor of Wolverhampton Councillor Dr Michael Hardacre in the Mayoral Suite at the Civic Centre.

It saw ten of the city’s most community-minded young people shortlisted in two age groups – 13 to 18 years old and 19 to 25 years old. The nominees were Eva Abley, Luis Enache, Harmon Kambo, Gabriella McKenzie, Dirran Mehta, Imane Sbihi, Shawna Gibbs, Karolina Jaks, Chloe Lambert and Alethea Parsons.

As in previous years, the judges faced the difficult task of whittling down a number of nominations to the shortlist, with three winners being declared overall.

The overall winner of the 18 – 25 year old category was Alethea Parsons who was nominated by a teacher from the Wolverhampton Mucic School for an outstanding contribution to music and the arts in the city.

There were joint winners in the 13 – 18 age group. They were Imane Sbihi and Eva Abley. Imane escaped from Morocco and since settling in Wolverhampton has immersed herself in voluntary work. She said: "I can't believe this, people in the UK are so friendly."

Eva, who has cerebral palsy, came fifth in Britain’s Got Talent last year. She uses comedy to inspire others to cope with disability.

Nominate online

Please note, nominations for the 2024 awards are now closed.